Progress!

This week I have been researching methods and ideas in relation to my G.A.M.E. Plan (Goal, Action, Monitoring, Evaluating).  My goal is to develop strategies to make my students more self-reflective.  Why?  Because I feel like learning needs to be placed in context, and without self reflection, lessons become a string of unrelated ‘hoops’ to jump through.  I want my Art students to take a look back at what they’ve accomplished and what it means before embarking on the next project.  Because learning to evaluate where you’ve come from can greatly affect the direction in which you choose to move forward.

I would love to report that my students are growing more self-reflective by the minute, but the honest truth is that I am currently without students!  Having taken two years off to raise my son, Desmond, (who just turned 18 months old) I do not have any students to teach at the moment (I miss them), except myself!  So I have been doing more research, trying to find practical, hit-the-ground-running self reflection resources so that I’ll have them in place upon my return to teaching.  So, here are some of the fruits of my labor, please click on the links for the artifacts:

Pre-Project Self Reflection – This teacher gives students a quick survey before beginning of a class.  I think the most valuable ideas (for me) that I’ve gotten out of this one, is having the students rank what they view is most important for success.

Self-Evaluation Prompts: Some excellent jumping off points for a guided, written self evaluation

Art Project Self Assessment Example: 8th Grade Pointilism.

 

I am learning quite a bit about student self-reflection, but I am also learning that there is no “magic” technique, nothing that inherently encourages students to think meaningfully back and evaluate their work honestly while looking towards future improvement.  I suppose that is the larger goal, to create students who want to learn from their experiences for self-improvement’s sake.

If anyone has any tips or valuable experiences with self-reflection, I would love to hear about them!

Thanks,
Megan

 

About Megan Boyd

Teacher of Graphic Design I & II as well as Digital Photo. I live in Room B207.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress!

  1. Jeffery Hammond says:

    I think giving a partially completed rubric could also be a help. Having the students compete the rubric will give them a sense of power and will help their enthuisasm.

Leave a Reply

