Revising My G.A.M.E. Plan

I am being asked this week to revise my original G.A.M.E. plan (G-goal, A-action, M-monitor, E-evaluate), which was to encourage my Fine Art students to be more reflective by concentrating on end-of-project self-reflection activities.  Though my research turned up some great alternative activities (forms, ‘confessional’-style videos, etc.), I have chosen to focus on leading productive verbal critiques as my goal.   I believe that no Art Teacher can be at full efficacy without mastering the skill of leading a good critique.

Unfortunately, I am stuck at the “M” portion of my G.A.M.E. plan as I have no way of monitoring my progress in this field because I am on leave from teaching!  So, instead, I will look to the future, to my next goal.  I can most likely implement this second goal concurrently with the first because my self-reflection activities occur at the end of a project and projects take weeks to complete.  (Although, now that I think of it, I would like my students to be able to be reflective at several points during a project.  Baby Steps, Megan!)

My next goal aligns with the NETS-T standard that states that I should, “provide students with multiple and varied formative and summative assessments aligned with content and technology standards and use resulting data to inform learning and teaching.”  I would like to use more efficient and effective forms of assessment.  I know that the best way for me to grade projects in Art is with a rubric because I can take several aspects of the project into consideration (adherence to assignment, inclusion of elements currently being studied, craftsmanship, etc.) that are quantifiable.  But I would like to do more formative assessments on the fly as the project is in progress, and maybe even get the students involved in the creation or completion of the rubric itself, perhaps by using language developed by the students it will be more meaningful to them.

These are all things I plan to investigate as I continue to craft goals for myself as an educator and artist.

 

Resources

International Society for Technology in Education. (2008). National Eduction Standards for Teachers.  Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/standards/nets-for-teachers/nets-for-teachers-2008.aspx

About Megan Boyd

Teacher of Graphic Design I & II as well as Digital Photo. I live in Room B207.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

